The 5 Love Languages & Why Is It Important To Know Them

The 5 Love Languages & Why Is It Important To Know Them

There are mainly 5 love languages. It is important to know what your and your partner’s love language is. Knowing each other’s love language helps in understanding each other, and helps to satisfy each other’s emotional needs.

Here are the 5 love languages that are commonly known.

  • Acts of service
  • Quality Time
  • Receiving/Giving Gifts
  • Words Of Affirmation
  • Physical Touch

No two individuals are the same, everyone has their own way of expressing love. Love language means the type of things that fulfil their emotional needs. 

Read more: Ways To Keep Romance In Relationship Alive & Things That Lead To Communication Barriers In Relationships.

Love Language Types

Acts Of Service

Acts of service are kind gestures. Some individuals love through actions and not words. While others show love through words. In this, your partner often puts your needs above their own, and loves to take care of you in any way.

People with this kind of love language enjoy spoiling their partner by doing things for them.
A great example of this love language could be the love of a mother, who selflessly works to keep her family comfortable and happy. These gestures can be subtle. However, a person who has acts of service as a love language always likes to care for other people.

If your partner is someone who is selfless, and enjoys making other people happy. Acts of service includes actions like – making a cup of tea or coffee, helping them with tasks, taking care of you when you are sick.

If your partner’s love language is an act of service, they don’t expect grand services, but instead the small things you do for them. 

Quality Time

Everyone loves to enjoy quality time with their partner. However, some people’s love language is to spend quality time with their partner without any disturbance. That’s their way to show love, they like to let their partner know that they are present with them.

If your partner enjoys spending quality time with their partner. They usually like to give all their attention to their partner in order to make them feel special. 

Moreover, they like to express their love by spending time with you, they may not show it often, but this is their way of expressing love.

If you have a partner who’s love language is spending quality time together, it may be difficult to notice it at first. However, it is the way they show it. They like to give you all their focus and attention and ensure that you feel heard.

If you have a partner who’s love language is spending quality time, then you must understand that they just enjoy simple things like spending time with you. It’s important that you give your attention and focus to them when you are with them.

Receiving/Giving Gifts

This is quite self explanatory. However, in this love language, your partner’s love language is giving you things. They express their love by giving you gifts that make them think of you.

Everyone enjoys receiving gifts. However, a person with this kind of love language doesn’t need expensive gifts. If they like to receive gifts it doesn’t necessarily mean that they like materialistic things, it could be small gifts such as handwritten letters, chocolates, or handmade bracelets.

A person feels loved when they receive gifts. For a person whose love language is receiving gifts, they feel special that someone thinks about them even when they are not around.

Words Of Affirmation

In this language, your partner wants simple words of affirmation. They like to be reassured and validated. It could be simple things like “I am proud of you”, “You look good today”, “You got this”  etc.

Hearing these words helps a person feel seen. They enjoy compliments from their partner. Moreover, it is not just saying these words but also meaning them. 

If your partner’s love language is “words of affirmation” then they don’t expect a lot. They just like to hear compliments. It shows that you notice them, and love them.

Physical Touch

The 5th love language is physical touch. It doesn’t mean only intimate things. However, simple things like holding hands, cuddling, hugging, playing with their hair etc. 

For them, physical touch provides them a sense of safety. They like holding their partner to show care and affection. Moreover, they like the feeling of warmth that comes with it.

Read more: Does Teenage Love Last? & How To Know If A Guy Likes You (Romantically)?

Importance Of Understanding The 5 Love Languages

We need to understand the 5 love languages as it helps us get clarity. If your partner’s love language is words of affirmations and yours is acts of service, there needs to be an understanding between you two. The understanding that you both have different ways of showing love, and different ways to express them. 

While everyone has different love languages, some people also express all the 5 love languages. 

It is important to know your love language because you can communicate it with your partner. Similarly, it is important to know theirs so they can understand them better, and show love in their language.


Everyone has a different way of expressing their love, and there are mainly 5 love languages. We must understand the different love language types in order to understand them better. 

Sometimes it may seem like your partner isn’t showing you affection. However, it may not be true as they may have different ways of expressing it. While these are the 5 main love languages, there are other ways your partner may try to show affection. For example – some may say saving the last slice of pizza is a love language or, wearing matching outfits may be another. 

In order to truly understand your partner’s love language it is important that you pay close attention to their behaviour. Observe their actions because actions speak louder than words.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *